Viewing Info

Information &
Publishing Schedule

Map of Area
& Subscriptions

Contact Us

Northeast Georgia
County Information

The Real Estate Register


    Northeast Georgia County Information                     The Real Estate Register

Our real estate magazine covers Elbert, Franklin, Hart, Madison and Stephens Counties. It offers properties for sale on Lake Hartwell, Lake Russell & Lake Thurmond, historic and residential homes and lots, poultry and cattle farms, as well as commercial properties.

ELBERT COUNTY includes the towns of Elberton, Bowman, Dewy Rose, Ruckersville, Middleton, Fortsonia,
Lake Hartwell, Lake Russell & Thurmond Lake. It was developed around the granite industry when quarrying
began in 1889. It has a rich history with numerous homes and churches constructed in the late 1700’s still
standing. The population is 20,494±.  Attractions include: Main Street Elberton, Bobby Brown State park,
Elbert County Wildlife Management Area, Georgia Guidestones (7.2 mi. north on GA Hwy 77 is a set of
granite monoliths consisting of a 10-part message for future generations transcribed in 12 languages),
Granite Museum, Richard B. Russell Dam & Lake, and Lake Richard B. Russell State Park.

HART COUNTY includes the towns of Hartwell, Lavonia, Reed Creek, Bowersville, Airline, Royston, Vanna,
Nuberg and includes Lake Hartwell. From the beautiful shores of Lake Hartwell to the historic town of
Hartwell, Hart County welcomes you! With a total population of 24,278±, it offers abundant industries
including large manufacturing companies to the many small businesses on the Downtown Square. You will
also find Hartwell Dam which was completed in the 1960's. It is responsible for joining three tributaries into
the river valley, resulting in the creation of Lake Hartwell, one of the most visited lakes in the US. One of 10
Mega-Ramps is located at Gum Branch Access. These sites were planned by Gov. Perdue as part of a 15-
site bass fishing trail for tournaments and 2 of them are on Lake Hartwell. Fishing contributes $1.5 billion to
Georgia’s economy each year. Year-round recreation abounds including golf, fishing, camping and boating.
The area's temperate climate allows many lake sports such as swimming, boating & skiing from April through October. Hart County also boasts Hart State Park. Sample this small town way of life and you'll  want to make this area home.

FRANKLIN COUNTY includes the towns of  Canon, Carnesville, Franklin Springs, Lavonia, Royston, Sandy
Cross and Lake Hartwell and was named for Benjamin Franklin. It was once Cherokee Indian land and ranks second in poultry industry in the state. Franklin County graces the foothills of the beautiful Northeast GA Mountains and is one of Georgia’s oldest counties with a population of 21,824±. Attractions include:
Emmanuel College, Ty Cobb Museum, the Broad River, Victoria Bryant State Park and Tugaloo State Park.
The beautiful shores of Lake Hartwell (the 3rd largest man-made lake in the US) offers fishing, boating and
water sports. It is 80 miles from Atlanta & 49 miles to Greenville, SC. I-85 runs through 20 miles of the
county, making this area a Mecca for industry and future growth. The Franklin/Hart Airport located in Canon
has a 5,000 ft. paved runway which has brought several new industries into the area. Franklin County offers a unique mix of history with a promising future and couples small town comforts with progressive goals.

STEPHENS COUNTY includes the towns of Toccoa, Avalon, Martin, Boydville and Lake Hartwell. It was
created from Habersham and Franklin counties in 1905. The courthouse was constructed in Toccoa in 1907. Toccoa is named for the nearby Toccoa Falls which is Cherokee for "the beautiful." It has a population of 25,493± and is 15 miles north of I-85, 90 miles NE of Atlanta, and 65 miles southwest of Greenville, SC and is accessible by GA 365, 123, 17 and 183.  Attractions are: Currahee Mountain, Henderson Falls Park, Stephens Co. Historical Headquarters & Museum, Toccoa Falls, and Traveler’s Rest Historic Site. The new Currahee Military Museum (Band of Brothers) is now open at the downtown depot.

MADISON COUNTY includes the towns of Danielsville, Carlton, Comer, Colbert, Hull and Ila. It is one of the
fastest growing counties in the state with a population of 28,200±. Just minutes from the home of UGA in
Athens, and an easy drive from the metropolitan cities of Atlanta and Greenville, SC, Madison County offers
the quality of quiet life. Lush pastures and rolling hills, acres of natural pine and hardwood forests, peaceful
streams and rocky rivers surround six small towns. You will find tree-lined streets and old-fashioned
neighborhood charm. It has an area of 285 square miles in the beautiful Piedmont Plateau of NE GA where
the average annual temperature is a mild 63°. Life in small town and rural communities can be slow-paced
and leisurely. However, the big city attractions are nearby.  Come see what we are talking about!

Click to view Northeast Georgia's Premier Real Estate magazine

The Real Estate Register

P.O. Box 655, Royston, GA 30662
Office:  706 245.7555   Fax:  706 245.6973


All contents © Copyright 2010 The Real Estate Register, a Division of Sierra Bravo, Inc.